Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

Book Review: Heads Will Roll by Joanie Chevalier

Synopsis: “What if, in the near future, we could choose the body we wanted? We could visit a store front, much like a neighborhood mom-and-pop shop, and we’d see all the available bodies lined up in a glass-enclosed case. We’d be able to choose the body we wanted, purchase it, …

Book Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Synopsis: “The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing …

Book Review: The Dry by Jane Harper

After Jane Harper’s debut novel The Dry disappeared from my NetGalley shelf, I had a brief moment of panic that I wouldn’t be able to read it in the near future (I have too much to read before I go buying new books). Fortunately, a few days later it was briefly …

Book Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #1)

After spending several months on the hold list through my local library’s OverDrive, my chance with Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes finally came up. With papers and a new job taking up much of my time, I almost didn’t get to finish it before my checkout ended. Because I was running out …

Thrift Picks: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, #1) by Stieg Larsson

Several years ago, I watched both film adaptations of Stieg Larsson’s book, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and I loved them. It was only natural that at that point, I told myself I would read the book. As all bibliophiles like myself know our to-be-read piles are constantly growing, and …

Book Review: Bird Box by Josh Malerman

Synopsis: “Something is out there, something terrifying that must not be seen. One glimpse of it, and a person is driven to deadly violence. No one knows what it is or where it came from. Five years after it began, a handful of scattered survivors remains, including Malorie and her …

Thrift Picks: Something’s Alive on the Titanic by Robert Sterling

Synopsis: “Eighty years ago, the “unsinkable” Titanic struck an iceberg in the North Atlantic, sending the ship and 1,503 passengers to a watery grave. Now, a group of scientists and adventurers going down to explore the wreck are unprepared for the terror awaiting them. . . . A thriller by …