Book Review: Nail’s Crossing by Kris Lackey

Synopsis: “This debut mystery from a fresh voice in Southwestern fiction stakes out the common ground between Tony Hillerman, Elmore Leonard, and Cormac McCarthy. In a remote corner of the Chickasaw Nation, tribal Lighthorse policeman Bill Maytubby and county deputy Hannah Bond discover the buzzard-ravaged body of Majesty Tate, a …

Book Review: How I Lost You by Jenny Blackhurst

Synopsis: “A woman without a memory struggles to discover the truth about her past and her identity in this cerebral and dark thriller reminiscent of works by bestselling authors S.J. Watson and Ruth Ware. I have no memory of what happened but I was told I killed my son. And …

Book Review: In a Cottage in a Wood by Cass Green

Synopsis: “A strange encounter Neve comes across a troubled woman called Isabelle on Waterloo Bridge late one night. Isabelle forces a parcel into Neve’s hands and jumps to her death in the icy Thames below. An unexpected gift Two weeks later, as Neve’s wreck of a life in London collapses, …

Book Review: Final Girls by Riley Sager

Synopsis: “Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press …

Book Review: Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka

Synopsis: “WHO ARE YOU WHEN NO ONE IS WATCHING? When a beloved high schooler named Lucinda Hayes is found murdered, no one in her sleepy Colorado suburb is untouched—not the boy who loved her too much; not the girl who wanted her perfect life; not the officer assigned to investigate …

Book Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Synopsis: “One night five years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t …

Movie Review: Gone Girl (2014)

Synopsis: “Gone Girl is a 2014 American psychological thriller film directed by David Fincher and written by Gillian Flynn, based on her 2012 novel of the same name. The film stars Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris and Tyler Perry. Set in Southwest Missouri, the story begins as a mystery that follows the events surrounding Nick Dunne (Affleck), who becomes the …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

Book Review: Heads Will Roll by Joanie Chevalier

Synopsis: “What if, in the near future, we could choose the body we wanted? We could visit a store front, much like a neighborhood mom-and-pop shop, and we’d see all the available bodies lined up in a glass-enclosed case. We’d be able to choose the body we wanted, purchase it, …

Book Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Synopsis: “The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing …