Book Review: Walk Through Fire (The Catalyst Series, #1) by Zoe Cannon

Synopsis: “Radioactive ruins. A radical anti-technology faction know as the Swords of Eden. Sinister scientists performing secret experiments. Shea knows what horrors await in the world outside the sanctuary she built for herself. Her mother is dead; her father is gone; her body is marked with the scars of what …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Review: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis: “When the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion? Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a …

DNF: Toru: Wayfarer Returns (Sakura Steam #1) by Stephanie R. Sorenson

Synopsis: “Revolutionary young samurai take on the West in this alternate history steampunk techno-fantasy set in 1850’s samurai-era Japan. In Japan of 1852, the peace imposed by the Tokugawa Shoguns has lasted 250 years. Peace has turned to stagnation, however, as the commoners grow impoverished and their lords restless. Swords …

Novella Review: The Grimhaven Disaster by Leo X. Robertson

Synopsis: “Themis and his buddies celebrate the end of high school by taking a trip to, of all places, Grimhaven’s abandoned nuclear plant, where Themis’ insane grandfather, who religiously devoted himself to nuclear energy, worked up until the hideous accident that put the plant out of commission. When Themis and …

Book Review: The Clockwork Dynasty by Daniel H. Wilson

Synopsis: “Deep in the rugged landscape of eastern Oregon, a young anthropologist named June Stefanov uncovers an exquisite artifact – a three-hundred-year-old mechanical doll – which is evidence of what she has spent years searching for. This is no ordinary doll…it is proof of a living race of ancient automatons …

Short Story Review: Darkness Upon the Deep by Hristo Goshev

Synopsis: “”Darkness Upon the Deep” is a hard sci-fi story with psychological horror elements. It takes place in the 24th century, against the backdrop of a war between mankind and an alien species. After barely escaping an enemy ambush, a human battleship gets stranded outside of regular space, and her …

Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen, #2)

When it comes to book series, there’s always a risk of the phenomenon called “second book syndrome.” For those who aren’t bookwyrms, this term refers most often to books that should have been left alone, rather than followed with a sequel. When I began reading Victoria Aveyard’s sequel to Red Queen, Glass …

Movie Review: Jack Hill’s Spider Baby (1967)

I haven’t watched a whole lot of black and white films, probably because growing up, I wouldn’t give them the time of day. Now that I’m a bit older, and I’ve had the benefit of having dated a cinephile, I am finally delving into the world of true classic movies, ones that, …