Book Review: Strange Weather by Joe Hill

Synopsis: “A collection of four chilling novels, ingeniously wrought gems of terror from the brilliantly imaginative, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman, Joe Hill “Snapshot” is the disturbing story of a Silicon Valley adolescent who finds himself threatened by “The Phoenician,” a tattooed thug who possesses a …

Book Review: The Troop by Nick Cutter

This book depicts graphic harm to animals. Synopsis: “Once a year, scoutmaster Tim Riggs leads a troop of boys into the Canadian wilderness for a three-day camping trip—a tradition as comforting and reliable as a good ghost story and a roaring bonfire. But when an unexpected intruder—shockingly thin, disturbingly pale, …

Book Review: Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

Synopsis: “Mary Shelley began writing Frankenstein when she was only eighteen. At once a Gothic thriller, a passionate romance, and a cautionary tale about the dangers of science, Frankenstein tells the story of committed science student Victor Frankenstein. Obsessed with discovering the cause of generation and life and bestowing animation …

Book Review: Walk Through Fire (The Catalyst Series, #1) by Zoe Cannon

Synopsis: “Radioactive ruins. A radical anti-technology faction know as the Swords of Eden. Sinister scientists performing secret experiments. Shea knows what horrors await in the world outside the sanctuary she built for herself. Her mother is dead; her father is gone; her body is marked with the scars of what …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Review: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis: “When the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion? Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a …

DNF: Toru: Wayfarer Returns (Sakura Steam #1) by Stephanie R. Sorenson

Synopsis: “Revolutionary young samurai take on the West in this alternate history steampunk techno-fantasy set in 1850’s samurai-era Japan. In Japan of 1852, the peace imposed by the Tokugawa Shoguns has lasted 250 years. Peace has turned to stagnation, however, as the commoners grow impoverished and their lords restless. Swords …

Novella Review: The Grimhaven Disaster by Leo X. Robertson

Synopsis: “Themis and his buddies celebrate the end of high school by taking a trip to, of all places, Grimhaven’s abandoned nuclear plant, where Themis’ insane grandfather, who religiously devoted himself to nuclear energy, worked up until the hideous accident that put the plant out of commission. When Themis and …

Book Review: The Clockwork Dynasty by Daniel H. Wilson

Synopsis: “Deep in the rugged landscape of eastern Oregon, a young anthropologist named June Stefanov uncovers an exquisite artifact – a three-hundred-year-old mechanical doll – which is evidence of what she has spent years searching for. This is no ordinary doll…it is proof of a living race of ancient automatons …

Short Story Review: Darkness Upon the Deep by Hristo Goshev

Synopsis: “”Darkness Upon the Deep” is a hard sci-fi story with psychological horror elements. It takes place in the 24th century, against the backdrop of a war between mankind and an alien species. After barely escaping an enemy ambush, a human battleship gets stranded outside of regular space, and her …