Book Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Synopsis: “The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing …

Book Review: The Dry by Jane Harper

After Jane Harper’s debut novel The Dry disappeared from my NetGalley shelf, I had a brief moment of panic that I wouldn’t be able to read it in the near future (I have too much to read before I go buying new books). Fortunately, a few days later it was briefly …

Book Review: End of Watch by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #3)

Whew, I finally finished End of Watch and man… It’s been more than twenty-four hours and I’m still messed up about it. King definitely has a way of drawing the reader in, even if said reader is as nihilistic as me when it comes to developing character attachments. Unlike Finders Keepers, book …

Book Review: I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier

  “The farmer in the dell, the farmer in the dell, heigh-ho, the merry-o, the farmer in the dell.”* If I were to judge a book by its title or cover, Robert Cormier’s I Am the Cheese is definitely not a book that I would pick up. In fact, I probably would have …

Book Review: The Many by Nathan Field

I’m always down for reading a new psychological thriller, perhaps because more often than not, they remind me just how twisted a person’s mind can be. It’s what took my breath away in Gone Girl, after all. Unfortunately, I was not impressed with Nathan Field’s The Many. While it was short, it …

Book Review: Finders Keepers by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #2)

Set a couple years after Mr. Mercedes, Finders Keepers brings us back to the motley group of unofficial private investigators that saved the kids at the ‘Round Here concert. Only this time, a teenage boy has stumbled across a treasure that could spell his demise. I can say with certainty …

Book Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #1)

After spending several months on the hold list through my local library’s OverDrive, my chance with Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes finally came up. With papers and a new job taking up much of my time, I almost didn’t get to finish it before my checkout ended. Because I was running out …