Book Review: The Scene (Dylan Hart, Odyssey of the Occult, #1) by R. M. Gilmore

Synopsis: “WARNING: Excessive Sarcasm & Adult Language Irreverent, twenty-something journalist, Dylan Hart, is not your average heroine. With a big butt and an even bigger mouth, she has her work cut out for her when she decides to cash-in on the blood-drained bodies of seven prostitutes scattered throughout southern California. …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

Movie Review: Scream (1996)

Synopsis: “The sleepy little town of Woodsboro just woke up screaming. There’s a killer in their midst who’s seen a few too many scary movies. Suddenly nobody is safe, as the psychopath stalks victims, taunts them with trivia questions, then rips them to bloody shreds. It could be anybody…” (Source: …

Book Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Synopsis: “The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing …

Book Review: End of Watch by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #3)

Whew, I finally finished End of Watch and man… It’s been more than twenty-four hours and I’m still messed up about it. King definitely has a way of drawing the reader in, even if said reader is as nihilistic as me when it comes to developing character attachments. Unlike Finders Keepers, book …

Book Review: The Many by Nathan Field

I’m always down for reading a new psychological thriller, perhaps because more often than not, they remind me just how twisted a person’s mind can be. It’s what took my breath away in Gone Girl, after all. Unfortunately, I was not impressed with Nathan Field’s The Many. While it was short, it …

Book Review: Finders Keepers by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #2)

Set a couple years after Mr. Mercedes, Finders Keepers brings us back to the motley group of unofficial private investigators that saved the kids at the ‘Round Here concert. Only this time, a teenage boy has stumbled across a treasure that could spell his demise. I can say with certainty …

Book Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #1)

After spending several months on the hold list through my local library’s OverDrive, my chance with Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes finally came up. With papers and a new job taking up much of my time, I almost didn’t get to finish it before my checkout ended. Because I was running out …