Short Story Review: Consumption by Michael Patrick Hicks

Synopsis: “You Are Reclusive chef Heinrich Schauer has invited six guests to a blind twelve-course tasting menu. What You Eat While snow blankets the isolated Swiss valley surrounding his estate, the guests feast eagerly, challenging one another to guess at the secret tastes plated before them. Meat Is Murder As …

Book Review: Mass Hysteria by Michael Patrick Hicks

Caution: This book is not for recommended for sensitive readers. It is Splatterpunk – a sub-genre of horror that strives to make your stomach twist and turn in the most revolting of ways with extreme graphic material. Synopsis: “It came from space… Something virulent. Something evil. Something new. And it is …

Movie Review: It (2017)

This post contains minor spoilers amid comparisons between the book and film Synopsis: “New Line Cinema’s horror thriller “IT,” directed by Andy Muschietti (“Mama”), is based on the hugely popular Stephen King novel of the same name, which has been terrifying readers for decades. When children begin to disappear in …

Book Review: Walk Through Fire (The Catalyst Series, #1) by Zoe Cannon

Synopsis: “Radioactive ruins. A radical anti-technology faction know as the Swords of Eden. Sinister scientists performing secret experiments. Shea knows what horrors await in the world outside the sanctuary she built for herself. Her mother is dead; her father is gone; her body is marked with the scars of what …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Anthology Review: Dark Screams, Vol. 7 by Various Authors

Synopsis: “Robert McCammon, James Renner, Kaaron Warren, Brian Hodge, Bill Schweigart, and Mick Garris reveal sinister secrets and unsavory pasts in a haunting anthology of short stories collected by acclaimed horror editors Brian James Freeman and Richard Chizmar. “LIZARD MAN” by Robert McCammon The lizardman thinks he knows about all …

Book Review: Glow by Megan E. Bryant

Synopsis: “When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique paintings with hidden glowing images that are only visible in the dark, she wants to learn more about the artist. In her search, she uncovers a century-old romance and the haunting true story of the Radium Girls, young women who …

Book Review: The Waking Land (The Waking Land, #1) by Callie Bates

Synopsis: “Lady Elanna Valtai is fiercely devoted to the King who raised her like a daughter. But when he dies under mysterious circumstances, Elanna is accused of his murder and must flee for her life. Returning to the homeland of magical legends she has forsaken, Elanna is forced to reckon …

Book Review: The Scene (Dylan Hart, Odyssey of the Occult, #1) by R. M. Gilmore

Synopsis: “WARNING: Excessive Sarcasm & Adult Language Irreverent, twenty-something journalist, Dylan Hart, is not your average heroine. With a big butt and an even bigger mouth, she has her work cut out for her when she decides to cash-in on the blood-drained bodies of seven prostitutes scattered throughout southern California. …

Short Story Review: Darkness Upon the Deep by Hristo Goshev

Synopsis: “”Darkness Upon the Deep” is a hard sci-fi story with psychological horror elements. It takes place in the 24th century, against the backdrop of a war between mankind and an alien species. After barely escaping an enemy ambush, a human battleship gets stranded outside of regular space, and her …