Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Review: Glow by Megan E. Bryant

Synopsis: “When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique paintings with hidden glowing images that are only visible in the dark, she wants to learn more about the artist. In her search, she uncovers a century-old romance and the haunting true story of the Radium Girls, young women who …

Book Review: Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

Synopsis: “Introducing one of the most famous characters in literature, Jean Valjean—the noble peasant imprisoned for stealing a loaf of bread—Les Misérables ranks among the greatest novels of all time. In it, Victor Hugo takes readers deep into the Parisian underworld, immerses them in a battle between good and evil, …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

Book Review: Silver by Mark L. Fowler

I took a brief break from horror it seems to flip through the pages of Mark L. Fowler’s novel, Silver. The book comes in at a fairly moderate length and encompasses a rather intriguing plot: authors are dying in the same fashion as the heros and heroines of their latest …

Book Review: The Fall of Lisa Bellow by Susan Perabo

Though wonderfully written, The Fall of Lisa Bellow is not what I expected it to be. That isn’t to say that it isn’t a good read, — it most definitely is — but because it was not as I had envisioned it, it took me much longer to get through the book than …