Novelette Review: Dead Over Heels by Theresa Braun

Synopsis: “Veronica’s first date with Sebastian not only stirs up a powerful attraction, but also a series of supernatural events that will tear them apart. After countless hours of dead end online dating, Veronica meets up with Sebastian at a reportedly haunted restaurant, since he knows she has a fascination …

Book Review: Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka

Synopsis: “WHO ARE YOU WHEN NO ONE IS WATCHING? When a beloved high schooler named Lucinda Hayes is found murdered, no one in her sleepy Colorado suburb is untouched—not the boy who loved her too much; not the girl who wanted her perfect life; not the officer assigned to investigate …

Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Synopsis: “Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and …

Book Review: Walk Through Fire (The Catalyst Series, #1) by Zoe Cannon

Synopsis: “Radioactive ruins. A radical anti-technology faction know as the Swords of Eden. Sinister scientists performing secret experiments. Shea knows what horrors await in the world outside the sanctuary she built for herself. Her mother is dead; her father is gone; her body is marked with the scars of what …

Book Review: The Boats of the ‘Glen Carrig’ by William Hope Hodgson

This review contains spoilers Synopsis: “Being an account of their Adventures in the Strange places of the Earth, after the foundering of the good ship Glen Carrig through striking upon a hidden rock in the unknown seas to the Southward. As told by John Winterstraw, Gent., to his Son James …

Book Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Synopsis: “One night five years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Review: Glow by Megan E. Bryant

Synopsis: “When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique paintings with hidden glowing images that are only visible in the dark, she wants to learn more about the artist. In her search, she uncovers a century-old romance and the haunting true story of the Radium Girls, young women who …

Book Review: Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

Synopsis: “Introducing one of the most famous characters in literature, Jean Valjean—the noble peasant imprisoned for stealing a loaf of bread—Les Misérables ranks among the greatest novels of all time. In it, Victor Hugo takes readers deep into the Parisian underworld, immerses them in a battle between good and evil, …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …