Book Review: Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix

Synopsis: “Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring wardrobes, shattered Brooka glassware, and vandalized Liripip sofa beds clearly someone, or something, is up to no good. To unravel the mystery, five young employees volunteer for a long dusk-till-dawn …

Book Review: Strange Weather by Joe Hill

Synopsis: “A collection of four chilling novels, ingeniously wrought gems of terror from the brilliantly imaginative, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman, Joe Hill “Snapshot” is the disturbing story of a Silicon Valley adolescent who finds himself threatened by “The Phoenician,” a tattooed thug who possesses a …

DNF: Damned: A Magnus Blackwell Novel by Alexandrea Weis, Lucas Astor

Synopsis: “Over a hundred years after the death of Magnus Blackwell, Altmover Manor sits abandoned. Lexie Arden and her fiancé, Will Bennet, are determined to rescue the neglected Mount Desert Island landmark. They want to make Altmover Manor their home. But Magnus has other plans. A spirit bound to his …

Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Synopsis: “Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and …

Book Review: The Boats of the ‘Glen Carrig’ by William Hope Hodgson

This review contains spoilers Synopsis: “Being an account of their Adventures in the Strange places of the Earth, after the foundering of the good ship Glen Carrig through striking upon a hidden rock in the unknown seas to the Southward. As told by John Winterstraw, Gent., to his Son James …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Review: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis: “When the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion? Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a …

Book Review: The Waking Land (The Waking Land, #1) by Callie Bates

Synopsis: “Lady Elanna Valtai is fiercely devoted to the King who raised her like a daughter. But when he dies under mysterious circumstances, Elanna is accused of his murder and must flee for her life. Returning to the homeland of magical legends she has forsaken, Elanna is forced to reckon …

DNF: The Lost Heir (The Dragonath Chronicles, #1) by Andi O’Connor

Synopsis: “Always a meticulous planner, Darrak Hunter leads a dull life until his dreams become plagued with visions of a peculiar and distant world. Waking up to a brilliant purple sun looming ominously in the sky, Darrak is met by a mysterious violet-eyed sorcerer who whisks him away from the …

Book Review: The Scene (Dylan Hart, Odyssey of the Occult, #1) by R. M. Gilmore

Synopsis: “WARNING: Excessive Sarcasm & Adult Language Irreverent, twenty-something journalist, Dylan Hart, is not your average heroine. With a big butt and an even bigger mouth, she has her work cut out for her when she decides to cash-in on the blood-drained bodies of seven prostitutes scattered throughout southern California. …