Book Review: Walk Through Fire (The Catalyst Series, #1) by Zoe Cannon

Synopsis: “Radioactive ruins. A radical anti-technology faction know as the Swords of Eden. Sinister scientists performing secret experiments. Shea knows what horrors await in the world outside the sanctuary she built for herself. Her mother is dead; her father is gone; her body is marked with the scars of what …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Review: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis: “When the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion? Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a …

Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen, #2)

When it comes to book series, there’s always a risk of the phenomenon called “second book syndrome.” For those who aren’t bookwyrms, this term refers most often to books that should have been left alone, rather than followed with a sequel. When I began reading Victoria Aveyard’s sequel to Red Queen, Glass …

Book Review: All That Remains by Al Barrera

Thirteen years ago, the world ended. It was not by nuclear fallout, and as far as the reader can tell, it may have been extraterrestrial in origin: whatever caused it remains shrouded in mystery, even as this quick, action-packed tale comes to an end. All That Remains by Al Barrera …