Book Review: Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills

Synopsis: “A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A …

Book Review: Chernobyl 01:23:40 by Andrew Leatherbarrow

Synopsis: “At 01:23:40 on April 26th 1986, Alexander Akimov pressed the emergency shutdown button at Chernobyl’s fourth nuclear reactor. It was an act that forced the permanent evacuation of a city, killed thousands, and crippled the Soviet Union. The event spawned decades of conflicting, exaggerated, and inaccurate stories. This book, …

Book Review: Heads Will Roll by Joanie Chevalier

Synopsis: “What if, in the near future, we could choose the body we wanted? We could visit a store front, much like a neighborhood mom-and-pop shop, and we’d see all the available bodies lined up in a glass-enclosed case. We’d be able to choose the body we wanted, purchase it, …

Book Review: Sorrel and Myriana by Evelyn Sun

Synopsis: “Pain begets insanity. Insanity begets love. Love begets pain. It is 1932, and the City of Dalltop is teeming with corruption. In the dead of night, a woman cries for help, but none turn an ear to her pleas. She scuttles through the lost buildings under their leaky roofs …

Book Review: The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women by Kate Moore

Synopsis: “The incredible true story of the young women exposed to the “wonder” substance of radium and their brave struggle for justice… As World War I raged across the globe, hundreds of young women toiled away at the radium-dial factories, where they painted clock faces with a mysterious new substance …

Book Review: The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown

Beth Underdown’s debut novel, The Witchfinder’s Sister, is a hauntingly chilling tale from a time when being different could very well mean death. Told from the perspective of Alice Hopkins, The Witchfinder’s Sister is a fictional account of the life of Witchfinder General Matthew Hopkins, who is believed to be responsible for the deaths …

Book Review: Three Minutes to Doomsday by Joe Navarro

When it comes to books, non-fiction typically isn’t something I’m interested in. Lately though, I’ve found a few from that genre that have piqued my interest, most notably former FBI Agent Joe Navarro’s Three Minutes to Doomsday, Andrew Leatherbarrow’s Chernobyl: 01:23:40, and another upcoming novel entitled The Radium Girls by Kate Moore. The …

Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen, #2)

When it comes to book series, there’s always a risk of the phenomenon called “second book syndrome.” For those who aren’t bookwyrms, this term refers most often to books that should have been left alone, rather than followed with a sequel. When I began reading Victoria Aveyard’s sequel to Red Queen, Glass …

Book Review: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

Several years ago, I watched The Haunting (1999). It was not an intentional watching of the movie and I actually forgot that I had watched it shortly after. Now and then, I would recall a scene and try to remember where it was from without much luck. At that time, I was …

Book Review: Something Violent by Kristopher Rufty

If you’re looking for something with a unique take on classic 80’s slasher horror, Kristopher Rufty’s Something Violent is a must read. Imagine a social media site like Facebook, but with a targeted demographic of murderers and you have Something Violent, a site dedicated to the worst of the darkest, most disturbed …