Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (ACoTaR, #2)

Synopsis: “Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

DNF: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne

Synopsis: “Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play …

Book Review: Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills

Synopsis: “A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A …

Book Review: Chernobyl 01:23:40 by Andrew Leatherbarrow

Synopsis: “At 01:23:40 on April 26th 1986, Alexander Akimov pressed the emergency shutdown button at Chernobyl’s fourth nuclear reactor. It was an act that forced the permanent evacuation of a city, killed thousands, and crippled the Soviet Union. The event spawned decades of conflicting, exaggerated, and inaccurate stories. This book, …

Book Review: The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women by Kate Moore

The 1920s was a time of flappers and speakeasies, of jazz and dance, of prohibition and women’s suffrage. It was a time of economic growth and industry. It was a time where the arts experienced the rise of creativity, of the Harlem Renaissance, and a time of death for America’s …

Book Review: The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown

Beth Underdown’s debut novel, The Witchfinder’s Sister, is a hauntingly chilling tale from a time when being different could very well mean death. Told from the perspective of Alice Hopkins, The Witchfinder’s Sister is a fictional account of the life of Witchfinder General Matthew Hopkins, who is believed to be responsible for the deaths …

Book Review: Three Minutes to Doomsday by Joe Navarro

When it comes to books, non-fiction typically isn’t something I’m interested in. Lately though, I’ve found a few from that genre that have piqued my interest, most notably former FBI Agent Joe Navarro’s Three Minutes to Doomsday, Andrew Leatherbarrow’s Chernobyl: 01:23:40, and another upcoming novel entitled The Radium Girls by Kate Moore. The …