Book Review: Three Minutes to Doomsday by Joe Navarro

When it comes to books, non-fiction typically isn’t something I’m interested in. Lately though, I’ve found a few from that genre that have piqued my interest, most notably former FBI Agent Joe Navarro’s Three Minutes to Doomsday, Andrew Leatherbarrow’s Chernobyl: 01:23:40, and another upcoming novel entitled The Radium Girls by Kate Moore. The …

Book Review: Something Violent by Kristopher Rufty

If you’re looking for something with a unique take on classic 80’s slasher horror, Kristopher Rufty’s Something Violent is a must read. Imagine a social media site like Facebook, but with a targeted demographic of murderers and you have Something Violent, a site dedicated to the worst of the darkest, most disturbed …

Book Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Synopsis: “The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing …

Book Review: The Dry by Jane Harper

After Jane Harper’s debut novel The Dry disappeared from my NetGalley shelf, I had a brief moment of panic that I wouldn’t be able to read it in the near future (I have too much to read before I go buying new books). Fortunately, a few days later it was briefly …

Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

It’s been fairly well established thus far that I have a deeply rooted love for dark fantasy. Jokes regarding my obsession with necromancy abound among my friend groups. For those of you that have seen the description for Rin Chupeco’s The Bone Witch, the fact that I picked this one up …

Book Review: The Nightly Disease by Max Booth III

  I really don’t know how I feel about Max Booth III’s The Nightly Disease. Published initially as a serial in DarkFuse’s magazine, The Nightly Disease follows a hotel night auditor’s descent into madness as everything that can go wrong, does go wrong. In a series of darkly comedic and horrific events, the …

Book Review: Everything You Want Me to Be by Mindy Mejia

Synopsis: “No one knows who she really is… Hattie Hoffman has spent her whole life playing many parts: the good student, the good daughter, the good girlfriend. But Hattie wants something more, something bigger, and ultimately something that turns out to be exceedingly dangerous. When she’s found brutally stabbed to …

Book Review: The Many by Nathan Field

I’m always down for reading a new psychological thriller, perhaps because more often than not, they remind me just how twisted a person’s mind can be. It’s what took my breath away in Gone Girl, after all. Unfortunately, I was not impressed with Nathan Field’s The Many. While it was short, it …

Book Review: Covenant by Allan Leverone

Earlier today, I finished up Covenant by Allan Leverone. I was disappointed, to say the least. The synopsis of the story is interesting enough: fairly young married couple move to small town and buy a house with a history. That history is dark and twisted, centering upon a previous owner that moonlighted …