Book Review: Strange Weather by Joe Hill

Synopsis: “A collection of four chilling novels, ingeniously wrought gems of terror from the brilliantly imaginative, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman, Joe Hill “Snapshot” is the disturbing story of a Silicon Valley adolescent who finds himself threatened by “The Phoenician,” a tattooed thug who possesses a …

Book Review: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Synopsis: “Should you ever go back? It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands. …

Novella Review: Church by Renee Miller

Synopsis: “Ray is a Christian, but he loves a woman who follows a god called Zabir. Determined to save her from eternal damnation, he joins her church. Ray doesn’t realize that indoctrination into the Zabian way is a process that not only breaks a man physically, it strips his identity …

Book Review: Lady Killers: A Compendium by Tori Telfer

Synopsis: “Inspired by author Tori Telfer’s Jezebel column “Lady Killers,” this thrilling and entertaining compendium investigates female serial killers and their crimes through the ages. When you think of serial killers throughout history, the names that come to mind are ones like Jack the Ripper, John Wayne Gacy, and Ted …

Book Review: Nail’s Crossing by Kris Lackey

Synopsis: “This debut mystery from a fresh voice in Southwestern fiction stakes out the common ground between Tony Hillerman, Elmore Leonard, and Cormac McCarthy. In a remote corner of the Chickasaw Nation, tribal Lighthorse policeman Bill Maytubby and county deputy Hannah Bond discover the buzzard-ravaged body of Majesty Tate, a …

Book Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Synopsis: “One night five years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t …

Book Review: Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Synopsis: “Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home. When Sal steals a flyer for an audition …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

Book Review: Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills

Synopsis: “A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A …

Novella Review: Festival by Aaron J. French

Synopsis: “Relaxation and romance were the plan for Steve and Cherie at the out-of-the-way hot springs. Something’s not quite right about the staff at Serenity Sanctum, the place has a vibe… In no time, old traumas and relationship problems resurface, turning what they thought would be a good time into …