Book Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Synopsis: “One night five years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t …

Book Review: Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Synopsis: “Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home. When Sal steals a flyer for an audition …

Book Review: Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

Synopsis: “From the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past. Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college …

Book Review: Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills

Synopsis: “A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A …

Novella Review: Festival by Aaron J. French

Synopsis: “Relaxation and romance were the plan for Steve and Cherie at the out-of-the-way hot springs. Something’s not quite right about the staff at Serenity Sanctum, the place has a vibe… In no time, old traumas and relationship problems resurface, turning what they thought would be a good time into …

Book Review: Heads Will Roll by Joanie Chevalier

Synopsis: “What if, in the near future, we could choose the body we wanted? We could visit a store front, much like a neighborhood mom-and-pop shop, and we’d see all the available bodies lined up in a glass-enclosed case. We’d be able to choose the body we wanted, purchase it, …

Book Review: The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women by Kate Moore

Synopsis: “The incredible true story of the young women exposed to the “wonder” substance of radium and their brave struggle for justice… As World War I raged across the globe, hundreds of young women toiled away at the radium-dial factories, where they painted clock faces with a mysterious new substance …

Book Review: The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown

Beth Underdown’s debut novel, The Witchfinder’s Sister, is a hauntingly chilling tale from a time when being different could very well mean death. Told from the perspective of Alice Hopkins, The Witchfinder’s Sister is a fictional account of the life of Witchfinder General Matthew Hopkins, who is believed to be responsible for the deaths …

Novelette Review: Caila: Evil Unbound by Bobby Fisher

At the moment I’m a bit farther behind in my ARCs than I would like to be, so I sorted them by publishing dates. For the most part, my reading order is based on upcoming publishing dates with those that are already published falling in between. As a result, Bobby …