Book Review: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

Several years ago, I watched The Haunting (1999). It was not an intentional watching of the movie and I actually forgot that I had watched it shortly after. Now and then, I would recall a scene and try to remember where it was from without much luck. At that time, I was …

Book Review: Something Violent by Kristopher Rufty

If you’re looking for something with a unique take on classic 80’s slasher horror, Kristopher Rufty’s Something Violent is a must read. Imagine a social media site like Facebook, but with a targeted demographic of murderers and you have Something Violent, a site dedicated to the worst of the darkest, most disturbed …

Book Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Synopsis: “The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing …

Book Review: End of Watch by Stephen King (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #3)

Whew, I finally finished End of Watch and man… It’s been more than twenty-four hours and I’m still messed up about it. King definitely has a way of drawing the reader in, even if said reader is as nihilistic as me when it comes to developing character attachments. Unlike Finders Keepers, book …

Short Story Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Ambiguity in a story isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but there’s also a point where it becomes too much. In Gillian Flynn’s award winning short story, “The Grownup,” the reader is presented with a perfect example of exactly what happens when there is simply too much story left unanswered. I …

Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

It’s been fairly well established thus far that I have a deeply rooted love for dark fantasy. Jokes regarding my obsession with necromancy abound among my friend groups. For those of you that have seen the description for Rin Chupeco’s The Bone Witch, the fact that I picked this one up …