Book Review: Walk Through Fire (The Catalyst Series, #1) by Zoe Cannon

Synopsis: “Radioactive ruins. A radical anti-technology faction know as the Swords of Eden. Sinister scientists performing secret experiments. Shea knows what horrors await in the world outside the sanctuary she built for herself. Her mother is dead; her father is gone; her body is marked with the scars of what …

Book Review: The Boats of the ‘Glen Carrig’ by William Hope Hodgson

This review contains spoilers Synopsis: “Being an account of their Adventures in the Strange places of the Earth, after the foundering of the good ship Glen Carrig through striking upon a hidden rock in the unknown seas to the Southward. As told by John Winterstraw, Gent., to his Son James …

Book Beginnings: Walk Through Fire by Zoe Cannon

What is Book Beginnings? “Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and …

Book Review: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Synopsis: “One night five years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t …

Book Review: Ninth City Burning (Ninth City Burning, #1) by J. Patrick Black

Synopsis: “For fans of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and The Hunger Games comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut… Cities vanished, gone in flashes of world-shattering destruction. An alien race had come to make Earth theirs, bringing a power so far beyond human technology it seemed like magic. It was nearly …

Book Beginnings: Ninth City Burning by J. Patrick Black

What is Book Beginnings? “Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and …

Anthology Review: Dark Screams, Vol. 7 by Various Authors

Synopsis: “Robert McCammon, James Renner, Kaaron Warren, Brian Hodge, Bill Schweigart, and Mick Garris reveal sinister secrets and unsavory pasts in a haunting anthology of short stories collected by acclaimed horror editors Brian James Freeman and Richard Chizmar. “LIZARD MAN” by Robert McCammon The lizardman thinks he knows about all …

Book Review: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis: “When the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion? Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a …

Novella Review: The Die-Fi Experiment by M. R. Tapia

Synopsis: “‘I would like to welcome the world to The Die-Fi Experiment. Please join us in the fun that is the deterioration of the world by means of social media.’ Marie and her husband are spending their honeymoon in Tokyo, Japan. While strolling the downtown streets, they are hoaxed into …

DNF: List of 10: The True Story of Serial Killer Joseph Naso by C. L. Swinney

Synopsis: “A narcissistic professional photographer lived a dangerous double life as a serial killer. He’d focus his rage on prostitutes mostly. It wasn’t uncommon for him to bring them home then try to explain why they were there to his wife. Sexual urges met, either via rape or after paying …